Skip to content
Fireworks Night in Capiz

Fireworks Night in Capiz

It was the night when the skies of Roxas City was literally lit up by the spectacular fireworks competition that capped the last day of the CAPIZtahan 2009 celebration commemorating the 108th Foundation Day Commemoration of the Civil Government of Capiz.

The fireworks competition was the highlight of the province-wide celebration participated by 20 pyrotechnic manufacturers coming from various parts of the country as far as Gen. Santos, Dumaguete, Cebu, Negros Oriental, Oroquieta, Bulacan, Metro Manila, and Iloilo.

The Villareal Stadium was jam-packed with spectators excited to watch the fireworks spectacle. The audience was composed of groups of teens, adults, and families with kids tagging along with their parents and grandparents. They were not disappointed with their expectations as they ‘oohed’ and ‘aahed’ over the awesome display of fireworks.

Because the fireworks could be seen in several parts of Roxas City, the viewers were not limited inside Villareal Stadium. Capiznons watched from the streets, from the balcony and rooftops of their houses, atop tricycles, and vehicles! It was one mesmerizing night when Capiznons all have their eyes set upon the colorful blazing of their skies.

The event was hosted by Joey Dela Cruz and Edmund de Asis who kept the spirits up with their amiable presentation of the sequence of the program. Judges for the competition were: Jinky Lynn Contreras, the first lady of Pontevedra Capiz; Aurora Palomar, socio-civic leader of Tapaz Capiz; Lilia Griño of Dao, Capiz; Rexam Laguda of IBC-Budyong; Fernando Luis Viterbo of Capiz Photographic Society; Joanne Dadivas, manager of ABS-CBN Roxas and Kalibo; Cyril Simpas, station manager of DYOW Bombo; Ely Abarra, station manager of RMN-DYVR Agong; Johana Carmela Barza of Capiz Photographic Society; Felipe Celino of Panay News; Gerry Pagharion of Capiz Times; Diosdado Ty of Alto Cable; and yours truly.

The vibrant fireworks battle was concluded with the announcement of the winners: Delumpa Fireworks of Iloilo City as champion, DSS Fireworks of Dumaguete City as second place, and RB Fireworks of Oron, Cebu as third place. Hefty cash prizes await the winners as well as consolation prizes for the other competitors.

The activity was made possible by Senator Mar Roxas and Governor Victor Tanco, Sr. and ably organized by Board Member Ricky Martin, Provincial Tourism Officer Alphonsus Tesoro, and his staff. Kudos!

Click here for the original story.

Previous article The Pros and Cons of Professional Firework Displays

Leave a comment

Comments must be approved before appearing

* Required fields