Category Archives: The British Firework Championships

British Firework Championships 2015

WHAT: British Firework Championships 2015
WHEN: Tuesday 18th & Wednesday 19th August 2015
WHERE: Plymouth Hoe, Plymouth
TIME: Fireworks start at approximately 9:30PM on both nights

2015 marks the nineteenth British Firework Championships and the event continues to captivate young and old alike as the best of the best of British Pyro-technicians take each other on in one of the UK’s biggest and best competitions.

Plymouth Hoe hosts around 5,000 visitors for this magnificent showdown but the fireworks are only a part of the entertainment on offer as on both dates there will be aerobatics shows from the Red Arrows display team and from Twister Aerobatics as well as a number of other concessions for all the family.

Twister Aerobatics are known for filling the skies with light with their wing tip pyrotechnics and super bright LED’s along the fuselage and powerful spotlights which will illuminate the brightly coloured display smoke. You can of course just take a seat early in the evening and watch the pleasure boats coming and going in the Hoe.

The Winners of last year’s competition was won by Blitz Fireworks of Cheshire and having checked out the footage and asked those who attended, the finale caught everyone’s imagination with a percussive, incredibly loud display. Brilliant multi coloured criss-cross slices, fans and some of the biggest gold and silver willow shell bursts I have ever seen held the air for what seemed an eternity.

That said and the winner acknowledged, standout for me last year from an innovation point of view was the countdown at the start of the Northern Lights display which was simply stunning. The Blitz display seemed to have ten times the amount of pyro but the Northern Lights display was notably more colourful.

The display teams competing this year are as follows:

1st Galaxy Fireworks
Phoenix Fireworks
Gala Fireworks
Essex Pyrotechnics
Fantastic Fireworks

It is lovely to see some competition ‘regulars’ competing but the best of luck to Spyrotechnics and Gala taking part for the first time at this event.

Details of the event and how to book to stay in Plymouth (not forgetting that this is one of the warmest areas of the UK) are available via the tourist information site.


The British Firework Championships 2014 Plymouth

The event began in 1997 at a group called TESA (The Events Services Association) after many years of discussion the feasibility of holding an annual fireworks competition which was to give competitors the opportunity to show off their respective talents.

After checking out all the suitable sites which could possibly house such an event, they settled on Plymouth Hoe as with its natural amphitheatre giving a panoramic viewing platform from the Port and Plymouth Sound for the beautiful fireworks.

Six teams are drawn annually to compete and every 6th year, they hold a ‘Champion of Champions’ event featuring the last ‘superchamp’ and the last 5 winners in an all out battle royal.

This year’s British Firework Championships event is over two nights, Tuesday 12th and Wednesday 13th August and the following teams will take centre stage:

Tuesday 12th August 2014

• Shellscape
• Blitz Fireworks
• Northern Lights Fireworks

Wednesday 13th August 2014

• Pyro 1
• Reaction Fireworks
• MLE Pyrotechnics

All six of these teams are exceptional and are known nationally as experts in the field of display pyrotechnics so the crowds are in for a treat.

As well as the fireworks, there will be plenty of additional entertainment on offer:

• Funfair
• Attractions
• Rides
• Music supplied by Heart FM
• Food and drinks concessions

Good luck to all competitors and we will bring you the pictures and video as soon as it becomes available.


The British Firework Championships 2011

14th British Firework Championships - Plymouth

WHAT: The British Firework Championships 2011
WHERE: Plymouth Hoe, Plymouth, Devon, PL1 2LR
WHEN: Tuesday 16th August to Wednesday 17th August 2011
WHAT TIME: The entertainment starts from 6.30pm and the first firework display will start appropriately 9.30pm each evening

This event has more snap, crackle and pop than rice crispies HQ.
The stage is set for two evenings of pure, jaw dropping entertainment climaxing to a breath taking fireworks displays from six leading UK firework companies.

The British Firework Championships – Plymouth 2011 – Firing Order:

Tuesday 16th August

1. Skyburst The Firework Company

2. Fireworx Scotland

3. Nemisis Pyrotechnics

Wednesday 17th August

1. Celebration Fireworks

2. MLE Pyrotechnics

3. Highlight Pyrotechnics

Who will be crowned the ‘British Firework Championship 2011’ ???? More details to follow soon and keep an eye on the epic fireworks blog – the biggest and best firework blog in the world.
In the meantime, here is an interesting article by Bob Twells who wrote a review on The British Firework Championships 2010.